Ready to Adopt

Back to Available Dogs

Name Tucker
Primary Breed Dachshund
Availability Ready to Adopt
Age 10 yrs old (DOB: March 12, 2012)
Coat & Colour Smooth coat, black
Size 15.6 lbs
Secondary Breed Chihuahua
Temperament Good-natured, alert, cautious at first then makes friends
Good with Dogs Yes 
Good with Cats Not tested
Good with Kids Older children as no too used to children
Needs another Dog Yes
Needs to be an Only Dog No
Housetraining Yes
Crate Trained No - cries
Suitable for Apartment

Not ideal as may cry and bark if left alone


Owner surrender

Adoption Fee $350

And now a few words from me:

Hello, my name is Tucker and I’m looking for a forever friend and companion.  It does not take me long to get comfortable and I will gladly accompany you on walks, car rides, yard time, or just lounging close to you on the couch.  If my human is not close-by, I’m glad to have the company of a fur brother or sister.  I’m happy at mealtime, of course, and am pleased to dine with my foster dog buddies. I'm also happy to have them close by so I can see what they do in my foster home and learn the ways of the house from them.   But as far as I’m concerned, the most important part of the family is my humans.  Would you like to meet?

And now a few words from my foster family:

Tucker is an easy dog to welcome home as he quickly becomes open-hearted to the people in his new surroundings and is fine with the other dogs as well. Tucker's housetraining is very good. Tucker has a level 3 - 4 heart murmur, which has caused no issues.  He also sometimes exhibits a hopping walk, which also causes no issues. Tucker counts on being close to his humans and cries if put in a crate or left alone, although he will settle quietly with his dog mates.  Tucker should have another dog for companionship and comfort.   Tucker is a lovely and sweet boy who values the company of his humans, and his best situation would be with people who are home a good deal of the time and who have another good-natured dog so Tucker can have a canine companion too. Currently being fostered in Toronto.