Ready to Adopt

Back to Available Dogs

Name Piwie (pronounced: Pee Wee)
Primary Breed Dachshund
Availability Ready to Adopt
Age 5
Coat & Colour Short hair, tan
Size 20 LB
Secondary Breed Corgi
Temperament HIGH-energy, sassy, curious, inquisituve, playful
Good with Dogs Only if they respect of her space
Good with Cats has shown little interest in previous home but does have prey drive to squirrels and birds - no guarantee of prey drive to cats
Good with Kids Has lived with 7 and 10 yrs old in previous home with no issues
Needs another Dog No
Needs to be an Only Dog no, but would need a low-key non-intrusive dog
Housetraining fully trained
Crate Trained Yes
Suitable for Apartment

No VERY vocal


Owner surrender

Adoption Fee $500

And now a few words from me

Nice to meet you, my name is Piwie, pronounced Pee Wee!  My foster mom calls me Corgi because I guess I remind her of a Corgi!  She also tells me that I’m a high-energy gal; yes, I can jump two feet off the ground while she shows me my harness when we get ready for a walk, but I LOVE walking and need lots of exercise. She also mentioned something about an “on-and-off button”; I think she meant that I can be calm but when it comes to walks, that is my favorite thing in the whole world! A couple of other things you should know about me:  I’m really frightened of the vacuum, and I don’t always get along with my foster siblings because they can be a little too much for me. I need an outlet for my energy ! so if you like to hike and walk or even run i would be your partner!

And now a few words from my foster family

Piwie is such a sweet girl.  All she wants to do is have someone love her and take her for walks.  She needs an active family; she loves her walks and is the best walker I’ve ever seen (loose leash much of the time). She is VERY vocal; she will react to anything and everything with a bark or three! Although her previous family spoke French, she has adjusted to English very well.  This girl has an on-and-off switch; she can be VERY active but also does very well in her crate at night and goes into it during the day to sleep. I am waiting to have my teeth cleaned and likely will have that done once in my new home .... Currently being fostered in Erin ON