Ready to Adopt

Back to Available Dogs

Name Milo
Primary Breed Dachshund
Availability Ready to Adopt
Age 4 yrs old (DOB: Oct 18, 2018)
Coat & Colour Short hair; black and tan
Size 20 lbs
Secondary Breed N/A
Temperament High energy, very busy little guy, unsure of new people
Good with Dogs Yes, but doesn't like rambunctious dogs
Good with Cats Not tested
Good with Kids No
Needs another Dog No, but would do better with a calm dog similar size to him
Needs to be an Only Dog No
Housetraining No, Milo was raised using pee pads and we are working on house training but it's a work in progress. JHe will not indicate he needs out in an obvious way but if let out often he will usally not mess inside
Crate Trained Yes, he does very well when crates and it has helped him immensely with his anxiety and mischievous nature
Suitable for Apartment

No, he is very vocal


Owner surrender

Adoption Fee $450

And now a few words from me:

Hi there, folks! I’m Milo! I’m a busy body who has a lot of energy to burn, and who loves to work, play, and explore. Sadly, I have some anxiety but with proper structure and exercise it is managed fairly easily. I have a few dog friends in my current foster home; I just love one of my foster brothers… we play and hang out together… he’s
cool and he’s my size! My other foster brother is a big, young goofball and he is sooo annoying!! SO smaller, calmer friends for me please. Walks are my favourite and I’m quite good on leash. I will bark at people we see because everyone should know that I need some space until I have a chance to get to know you. I’m hopeful I will
find the perfect family that loves adventures and has the time and patience to help me be my best self.

And now a few words from my foster family:

** Please DO NOT apply if you have no experience with behavior issues**; specifically, dogs who can bite people and get defensive easily. Milo is quite the little force of nature. He is a high-energy little boy who really needs an experienced owner. He has had some biting tendencies in the past, mostly over resources and being groomed and handled, so caution in these areas is needed. Milo has made huge progress while in foster care and he is thriving, so we need a committed person or family (no kids under 18) that will continue the same path and help him continue to be his best self. Milo was raised on pee pads and subsequently is not fully house trained. He thinks soft surfaces are his toilet and will not reliably ask to go out, and he will also bury his business in the bedding of his pen or crate (if given bedding). We are treating him like a puppy and taking him out on frequent potty breaks and he is crated when unsupervised. Milo loves to eat, and he came into care quite chunky. He has now lost a total of 5 pounds and is in great shape, but he is on a strict diet and exercise regimen. Keeping his weight down is also very important as he has a deformity in his front leg. There is some mild arthritis in that leg, for which he takes some natural supplements. However, as he ages, he may need stronger meds if the arthritis progresses. Having said
that, this sure doesn’t slow him down! Milo would do best in a detached house as he can be vocal and an apartment or attached housing would not be suitable for him. A fenced yard is not mandatory but would be fun for him to play his favorite game, which is fetch! If you are an active person looking for a fun little companion with some  quirks, this guy might be the buddy you have been looking for! Milo would do best with a single person or couple with no kids, who don’t get a lot of visitors or want an overly social dog.